Mobile Apps Catalog

About this page:

Smart phones, tablets and small net-book computers have become devices that people commonly use for information and record-keeping. The saying goes, “There is an app for that,” and  it seems as if we discover the need for an “app” every day.

Below is a table of apps that may be useful in your work. It displays apps developed by Texas A&M AgriLife and other state Extension and university sources, as well as industry and other author sources.

Suggestion Box:

Suggestion BoxDo you know of or have an app that might help others in Texas A&M AgriLife? Do you have an idea for an app? Use the Suggestion box to let us know!

 

Apps in the catalog below are not reviewed, rated or recommended in any context. This list is provided as internal information for the faculty and staff of Texas A&M AgriLife; there is no intention to imply that any app must be used for any purpose. You should thoroughly research and become familiar with any mobile app before recommending it or using information or results.

Latest Updates:
Farm.com Agriculture Apps (Find 100s of Ag Apps)

http://www.farms.com/agriculture-apps/

Catalog

Title

Contact

App Description & information site

Android

iPhone, iPad

Blackberry

Windows

Developed by Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

Cow Poop Analyzer Megan Clayton https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.poopanalyzer&hl=en 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cow-poop-analyzer/id988685100?ls=1&mt=8

X X
Sorghum Headworm Calculator Monti Vandiver https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.blaize.test X
Texas EDEN After a Disaster Treye Rice http://texashelp.tamu.edu/emergency-preparedness-and-recovery-app.php coming X
AgriLife Food Safety Joe Masabni Juan Anciso https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/agrilifefood-safety/id445935229?mt=8 X
The Tick App Pete Teel http://tickapp.tamu.edu/ X X  X X
Crop Cost Jay Yates https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/crop-cost/id570895516?ls=1&mt=8 coming X
Water Cost Jay Yates https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/water-cost/id581833952?ls=1&mt=8 coming X
Water Calc Jay Yates https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/water-calc/id581834180?mt=8 coming X
 AquaCide $2.99  Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aquacide/id722031732?ls=1&mt=8  X
AquaPlant $5.99 Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aquaplant/id722310302?ls=1&mt=8 X
AmmoniaCalc $1.99 Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ammoniacalc/id722048864?ls=1&mt=8 X
AquaRef $0.99 Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aquaref/id704586063?ls=1&mt=8 X
PondCalc $1.99 Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pondcalc/id709517896?ls=1&mt=8 X
 Texas Farm Pond Management Calendar $1.99  Todd Sink  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/texas-farm-pond-management/id754847884?ls=1&mt=8  X
Feral Hog Management Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/feral-hog-management/id784847089?mt=8 X
Stocking Rate Calculator for Grazing Livestock Todd Sink https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stocking-rate-calculator-for/id814140174?mt=8 X
Cotton Root Rot Return to Treatment Calc Bill Thompson https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/root-rot-calculator/id834618302?mt=8 X
4-H news and Events  Chris Boleman iOS:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/4-h-news-and-events/id454249637?mt=8Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Inconceivable.FourHNews  X  X
 Bushland Reference ET Calculator  Prasanna Gowda  http://www.cprl.ars.usda.gov/swmru-software-bretc.php  X
 Northern Bobwhite Management Calendar  Jim Cathey  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/northern-bobwhite-management/id903580244?mt=8  X
Northern Bobwhite Habitat Evaluation Jim Cathey https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/northern-bobwhite-habitat/id903595892?mt=8 X

Developed by other state Extension Services, universities or federal agencies

Pesticide Applicator Records Nebraska App to keep Pesticide application records.iphone: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pesticide-recordkeeping/id647276572?mt=8&ign-mpt=uo%3D4Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=edu.unl.pested X X
MRTN Illinois Extension Maximum Return to Nitrogen Calculator X X
Sprayer Calibration Mississippi State Help properly calibrate sprayers X
Sprayer Calibration Clemson Extension http://www.clemson.edu/extension/mobile-apps/index.html
Rice Scouting app LSU Scout rice fields for insects, weeds, disease http://ricescout.lsuagcenter.com/  X X X
Body Quest Alabama Extension Youth-directed nutrition education http://bodyquest.aces.edu X
Spray Nozzle optimization USDA / ARS http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/pr/2012/121108.htm  X X
SoilWeb USDA-NRCS and UC Davis California Soil Resource Lab http://casoilresource.lawr.ucdavis.edu/drupal/node/902 X X
Corn N Rate Calculator University of Wisconsin Nutrient and Pest Management Program https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/corn-n-rate-calculator/id455298473?mt=8 X X
N Price Calculator University of Wisconsin  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/n-price-calculator/id455090088?mt=8 X X
LeafSnap Columbia U, U of Maryland Identify Plants https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/leafsnap/id430649829?mt=8 X
Farm Fuel Budget North Dakota State Extension http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/extension/apps/farmfuelbudget X
Winter Survival Kit North Dakota State Extension http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/extension/apps/winter-survival-kit X X
Disaster Recovery Log North Dakota State Extension http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/extension/apps/disaster-recovery-journal X
 Volunteerica  New Mexico State Volunteer Record Keeping  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/volunteerica/id532676565?ls=1&mt=8  X
 Demographica  New Mexico State  Record Meeting Demographics  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/demographica/id526422951?mt=8  X
Southwest Palnt Selector New Mexico State
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/southwest-plant-selector/id526449181
X
 Leftovers  Iowa State  4 Day Throw Away Project  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/leftovers/id427307538?mt=8
 HHS Health apps US Dept of Health and Human services  A collection of Health apps   http://www.hhs.gov/digitalstrategy/mobile/mobile-apps.html
 Turf Grass Management  University of Georgia http://www.commodities.caes.uga.edu/turfgrass/georgiaturf/EdProgrm/turfgrassapp.html  X  X  X
 ID Weed  University of Missouri https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id-weeds/id559906313?mt=8
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.extension.weed.id.guide&feature=search_result
 X  X
 Bugwood Apps  University of Georgia  A collection of Mobile Apps from the Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health http://apps.bugwood.org  X  X
Stink Bug Scout  Geogia  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stink-bug-scout/id546156573  X
 PGR Mixmaster  New Hampshire Extension  Helps greenhouse growers calculate the amount of plant growth regulators.  http://extension.ung.edu/pgr/index.html  X  X  X
 Dust Storm  University of Arizona  Tips and help in case of a dust storm. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dust-storm/id575209290?mt=8  X
 Lawn Care App  North Carolina State Extension Lawn Care, grasses, irrigation, pests and morehttp://www.lawncare.ncsu.edu/  X  X
 Purdue Plant Doctor  Purdue Apps for Trees, Perennial Flowers, Annual Flowers and Shrubs https://purdueplantdoctor.com/  X
vTree Virginia Tech North American woody plants ID  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vtree/id576191197 X
Western Bean Cutworm Speed Scout Nebraska Threshold for Cutworm treatment  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/western-bean-cutworm-speed/id543341625 X

Developed by commercial sources

Farms.com Ag Apps https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farms.appdirectory X
Ag Weed ID Penton / Farm Progress http://cornandsoybeandigest.com/site-files/cornandsoybeandigest.com/files/uploads/ag-weed-id-app.html?mid=wapbf150&YM_RID=CPG02000000680256&YM_MID=596 X X
Revolving Arthropods Dennis Kunkel http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/7571/?countrycode=US  X
Simplot Spray Guide Precision Labs Tank mix and application help    http://www.simplot.com/farmers/products/specialty_products/spray_guide_app X X
Mobile Farm Manager John Deere Keeps field and production data handy X
SpraySelect TeeJet Technologies Spray tip selectionhttp://www.teejet.com/english/home/products/spray-products/sprayselect-tip-selection-app.aspx X X
agSeedSelect Monsanto http://www.asgrowanddekalb.com/programs/agTools/Pages/agSeedSelect.aspx X X
Agrowdata Commodity informationhttps://itunes.apple.com/us/app/agrowdata/id505052808?mt=8 X
LoadOut Lextech Allows monitoring and control of grain loading from cab   http://www.feedandgrain.com/video/10714966/using-smartphones-at-load-out X
AgStudioMap Mapping out field boundaries X
Connected Farm Trimble Map field boundaries and keep records per field X X
Onsite AgIntegrated Internet based allows direct access to equipment telematics X X
Weed Manager PLUS Monsanto Weed management recommendations X X
Exteme Beans Soybean Board Yield vs input cost analysis X X
Mix Tank 2.0 Precision Labs Create, save and share spray logs X X
Tank Mix Calculator FarmLogic http://www.farmlogic.com/tools/mobile_apps/tank_mix_calculator.aspx X X
TankMix DuPont http://www2.dupont.com/Prod_Agriculture/en-us/content/article/tank-mix-app-on-itunes.html X
Optimizer 2.0 Advanced Ag Solutions Upload GPS soil sampling data  http://www.advancedagsolutions.com/optimizer.php X
Agrian Mobile  Agrian Inc https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/agrian-mobile/id409704374?mt=8 X
Growing Degree Days Farm Progress https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/growing-degree-days/id386655475?mt=8 X
Manure Monitor Move Creative Monitor environmental records
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/manure-monitor/id565101082?ls=1&mt=8https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.movecreative.feedlot
X X
 Manure Calculator  Move Creative Calculate fertilizer rates for manure
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/manure-calculator/id564930746?ls=1&mt=8https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.movecreative.manurecalculator
 X  X
Mobile Pioneer Pioneer https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pioneer.mobile.android&hl=en X X
Soil Survey Map GCS Research https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gcsresearch.soilmap&hl=en
Stink Bug Scout Bugwood https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bugwood.stinkbug&hl=en X X
YieldCheck Precision Planting, Inc. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/yieldcheck/id455760235?mt=8 X
Nutrient Removal The Mosaic Company https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nutrient-removal/id481110504?mt=8 X X
ArcGIS ESRI Mobile GIS mapping app  http://www.esri.com/software/arcgis/smartphones X X
Google Earth Google, Inc. Mobile maps http://www.google.com/mobile/earth/ X X

Comments are closed.